The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Medical Doctoral Student Council

Welcome to the official page of the Medical Doctoral Student Council! We represent all PhD students at the Faculty of Medicine.

The Faculty of Medicine at Lund University has approximately 1000 PhD students, at the six departments in Lund and Malmö. The Medical Doctoral Student Council  (Medicinska Doktorandrådet, MDR) is the union for all PhD students at the Faculty of Medicine. MDR has student representatives across 35 different boards and committees including the faculty boards, the departmental boards, the Research Studies Board, and within strategic research areas. 

MDR representatives participate in important decision-making processes that affect the PhD education and research environments of all PhD students at the faculty. Moreover, MDR supports PhD students if problems arise and can be contacted by any PhD student at the Faculty of Medicine for advice and support. At MDR’s monthly meetings, participants discuss recent events at the faculty, updates from the work in the various boards, and current issues that PhD students are facing.

For more information follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

You can find our newsletters on the following link: Newsletters

New to Sweden?

Practical information for new PhD students

Contact MDR

Chair of MDR:
Nika Gvazava
nika [dot] gvazava [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (nika[dot]gvazava[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se)

Vice Chair:
Juliane Tampé
juliane [dot] tampe [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (juliane[dot]tampe[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se)

Ganesh Giri
ganesh [dot] giri [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (ganesh[dot]giri[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se) 

Head of events:
Divya Bali
divya [dot] bali [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (divya[dot]bali[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se)

Communications Officers:
Anna Orduña Dolado
anna [dot] orduna_dolado [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (anna[dot]orduna_dolado[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se

Christina-Anastasia Stamouli
christina-anastasia [dot] stamouli [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se (christina-anastasia[dot]stamouli[at]med[dot]lu[dot]se)