The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Double PhD

Joint and double degrees for PhD students

There are several different definitions of joint degrees, and national regulations can sometimes limit opportunities for this kind of collaboration. In many cases it is therefore much easier to collaborate within the framework of a double degree. With the help of the university's Legal Services and Record Management section, the Faculty of Medicine has developed a standardised agreement template for double PhDs.

Criteria to keep in mind

Before you admit a double PhD student, please observe the following:

  • Are there different strengths within the collaboration that make it advantageous for a PhD student to be shared between two institutions?
  • What does the collaboration look like both in the long term and the short term?
  • Synergies - how does the institution view potential synergies that may arise through the shared PhD student? Are there reciprical intrests between the insitutions/research groups?
  • Demarcation - should be strategic for research (determined by the supervisor). Avoid requests from individual students. The collaboration should be between two parties and not student-led.


Checklist process double PhD (PDF 35 kB, new tab)

General principles for double degrees at the Faculty of Medicine

Final draft - double PhD (PDF 155 kB, new tab)

Faculty agreements

General Memorandum of Understanding agreements

  • Erasmus Mundus Joint Doctorate Program in Fetal Medicine (Joint PhD) (LU, Barcelona University, Leuven University)
  • Wenzhou Medical University, China
  • CORVOS, a Horizon 2020 Marie Curie Joint European PhD
  • iCope, Interregional Childhood Oncology Precision Medicine Exploration (Öresund-Kattegat-Skagerrak)
  • Nagoya University, Japan

Individual double degree agreements

  • University of Iceland, School of Health Sciences
  • Universidad de la Republica, Faculty of Science Uruguay
  • Universidade de Coimbra, Portugal
  • Università Degli Studi de Genova, Italy
  • Central South China University, China
  • Arbaminch University, Ethiopia
  • Macquarie University, Australia
  • University of Zagreb, Faculty of Science Croatia


Maria Sjöström
International Coordinator
maria [dot] sjostrom [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se

Emma Roybon
Head of Research Administration
emma [dot] roybon [at] med [dot] lu [dot] se